Accept Cookies?
Provided by OpenGlobal E-commerce

Please wait while your page loads ...

Molly Lawson

Molly LawsonHi there! My name is Molly. A little bit about me: I am 24 years old, and I just graduated with my Master’s degree in social work.

I was diagnosed with Friedreich’s Ataxia at 10 years old. FA is different for everyone, but I would say my progression is on the slower side compared to how quickly FA can progress. I was walking independently until the age of 18, when I started using a walker. At the age of 19, I used a wheelchair when I was out and about and a walker at home. When I was 21, I got a power chair to assist me to tackle long distances. At the time, I was living alone so I didn’t have much help for the day-to-day living.

Now that I am 24, I pretty much use my manual chair or my power chair to get by. I go to physical therapy twice a week, and there I walk with a walker, but walking by myself is dangerous. I also have a roommate now, but I still take care of daily living activities myself.

At the age of 21, I got my license to drive with hand controls. With the help of vocational rehabilitation, I got a fully accessible car. I feel truly blessed to be able to obtain that goal. I have been driving successfully for three years now.

My undergrad degree was in human and family development and currently I am working as a case manager with people with developmental disabilities. I am really enjoying it, but we will see where the future takes me!




Archived in
  the Ambassador Blog

Privacy Policy      Service Terms      Contact      Charity Navigator