Meet Tyler Ray Rogers

Name: Tyler Ray Rogers

Age: 26

Where do you call home? Houston, Texas

What is your education [degree(s)]? What is a current goal you have with your education? How will FA add to your future [career]? I got my Bachelor of Science in December of 2019. It was a double-major in Political Science and Economics with a minor in Business. In December of 2021, I graduated with a Master of Science in Economics (concentration in Financial Econometrics). Both degrees are from Texas A&M University in College Station, Texas (whoop!). I would like to eventually go back for a PhD in Economics. FA would require me to put more thought into travel and commute considerations for any potential job moves in the future.

Who do you live with? As of the beginning of May, I live independently. I was living with a friend, but he’s getting married this summer so we’re both moving.

What’s a typical day for you? I work from home. So, my ideal schedule is to make breakfast for myself, and read my Bible while drinking my coffee. I start work at 7am and work until 3:30pm. I go to the gym at about 4pm and get home about an hour later. My evening activities vary depending on the day.

How long have you known you are living with FA? When and how were you diagnosed? I was diagnosed 7 years ago during the second semester of my freshman year in college. I was tested after my twin brother (fraternal), Hayden, was diagnosed.

Are there any others with FA in your family? There are no other FA patients that we know of in our family. Our sister is a carrier.

Describe an adaptation and/or transition you have had to take due to living with FA. I’m still ambulatory. I do use a wheelchair in public, when I have a pretty far distance to travel (e.g., at church).

What do you like to do to stay active and what type of exercises work for you to stay strong? I try to go to the gym several times a week. I follow Push-Pull-Legs split and mostly stick to machines instead of free weights.

Do you have any special hobbies or interests? I love movies, reading, and board games! And generally, just hanging out. I’m a huge fan of Aggie sports. When I’m settled into my new house, I think it’d be fun to try out some bartending/mixology.

What is a good trick to make daily life easier? Plan things out to minimize the amount of going back and forth when getting ready/putting everything together. This is important because everything with FA takes longer and is a lot more of an ordeal.

When FA gets you down, what do you think/do to feel better? I try to remember that everyone has problems, and I am not unique in that. I’ve also found that feeling sorry for yourself doesn’t actually do anything to make your life better.

What is one way living with FA has POSITIVELY affected your life? Having FA has made me more resilient whenever hardships come my way.

What is a favorite motivational quote of yours? “There is no more unhealthy being, no man less worthy of respect, than he who either really holds, or feigns to hold, an attitude of sneering disbelief toward all that is great and lofty, whether in achievement or in that noble effort which, even if it fails, comes second to achievement.” -Theodore Roosevelt

What is the best advice YOU could give to a person who has been newly diagnosed with FA? Don’t waste too much time in your feelings when there’s plenty of opportunity to enjoy life.

What is the first thing you want to do when a cure/treatment to FA is found? If a cure made me 100% normally capable, I’d play sports and go dancing with friends all the time.

“I have FA but FA doesn’t have me.” What does this statement mean to you? I am a normal guy who happens to have a physical disability.

Are there any modifications that have made it easier for you to pursue your education or work in your job? I was able to score a job that allowed me to work from home and that has been great because I’m not having to rush to get ready and get out the door for work.

Favorite Book? One of my favorite books is Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry. It won a Pulitzer Prize and it’s about two retired Texas rangers leading a cattle drive from the Rio Grande to the Montana territory in the Wild West.

Interviewed by
Mary Nadon Scott