AdamKiess1Name: Adam Kiess

Age: 38

Where do you call home? Wichita, KS

Education (degree(s): Bachelors of Arts in Communications with an emphasis in Broadcast Journalism – Wichita State University

What is your relationship status? Who do you live with? Single. Parents and sister.

What's a typical day for you? Workout at YMCA, watch TV.

How long have you known you are living with FA? September 1997. Blood test.

Are there any others with FA in your family? Yes, my sister, Andrea.

Describe your transition from walking to walker/wheelchair. I tore meniscus twice in my knee, so decided wheelchair would be better and safer for me. 

AdamKiess2What do you like to do to stay active and what type of exercises work for you to stay strong? I go to the YMCA 5 days a week and have a routine of different exercises I do. I also work with a personal trainer once a month to add new exercises into my routine.

Do you have any hobbies or special interests? YMCA and watching sports.

When FA gets you down, what do you think/do to feel better? Pray.

What is one way living with FA has POSITIVELY affected your life? I enjoy my friendships more.

What is a favorite motivational quote of yours? “Don’t ever give up…” – Jim Valvano

What is the best advice YOU could give to a person who has been newly diagnosed with FA? Don’t stop living.

What is the first thing you want to do when a cure/treatment to FA is found? Play golf.

"I have FA but FA doesn't have me." What does this statement mean to you? How do you live your life in the face of adversity? It means that this disease don’t define me. You can still live life to the fullest.

Tell us a little more about you…..I am a man of faith. I love sports…both going and watching on tv.

AndreaKiess mtc sig 16