Carly M2Name: Carly Magnuson

Age: 27

Where do you call home? Sunny South Florida

What is a current goal you have with your education? I graduated from Deerfield Beach high in 2009. I didn't feel the need to go to college
until now, as I am completing early childcare online courses so I can get a job at my mom's day-school. I am interested in taking more online

What is your relationship status? Do you have children? No children of my own, but I have three handsome nephews and a niece on
the way. I live with my parents and younger sister and 2 dogs and a cat.

Carly MWhat's a typical day for you? I wake up around 9 or 930 (or earlier if I have doctor appointment) and have breakfast with my dad, who retired from being a lifeguard captain 5 years ago to stay home and take care of me. Then I go to a physical or speech therapy session, or I work out in my garage or run errands. Some days I'll go up to my mom's Day School. I do some online training courses and also my keychains (they're taking so much longer to complete).

How long have you known you are living with FA? (When and how were you diagnosed?) I guess I've known for 16 years but 7 of them I was ignoring it and 7 I was trying to hide it and not make it look that bad but for the past two years and now I'm more accepting of FA. I was originally diagnosed at 7 but not told until I was 11 when I started asking questions.

Are there any others with FA in your family? No. I'm the third out of four daughters, and also the lucky one.

Describe your transition from walking to walker/wheelchair. I would always get teased about walking funny throughout my school years, It wasn't until high school that the school made me use the schools' wheelchair but only during school hours. I had my spinal fusion surgery my sophomore year and then I became a full-time wheelchair user for fear of falling and injuring myself further.

What do you like to do to stay active and what type of exercises work for you to stay strong? I go to physical therapy once a week, and I lift weights in my garage, or I push myself around my block in my manual wheelchair. I also have some occupational manipulatives.

Do you have any hobbies or special interests? I love sitting in the sun and listening to reggae. I enjoy going to the beach, going on my brother-in- law's boat, going shopping or to the movies with my sister, watching murder mysteries, hanging out with family or friends, making keychains or working out.

When FA gets you down, what do you think/do to feel better? I read some of the meet the community blog posts, or I listen to a 2 disabled dudes podcast and remember I'm not alone,

What is one way living with FA has POSITIVELY affected your life? Getting the chance to meet all of the wonderful people I have met.

What is a favorite motivational quote of yours? It's not my favorite but I like, "slow still gets you there."

What is the piece of advice that someone with FA has given you that encourages and inspires you? On one of the 2 Disabled Dudes podcasts, Kyle and Sean were talking about how they react in tough situations, and I think Kyle said "it's all on how you react" and I try to remember that.

What is the best advice YOU could give to a person who has been newly diagnosed with FA? Don't give up, do what you can while you're still able.

What is the first thing you want to do when a cure/treatment to FA is found? I want to go surfing with my nephews and family. "I have FA, but FA doesn't have me."

What does this statement mean to you? How do you live your life in the face of adversity? I may do some things differently and need more help but I'm still me.

Tell us a little more about you..... I am a faithful, fun-loving, intelligent, charismatic Christian. People say I'm funny too.

ChristinHaun mtc sig 16