Tom Trovinger 1 Name: Tom Trovinger

Age: 47 years old

Where do you call home? I grew up in Hagerstown Maryland and moved to Florida a few years back for the nice weather!

Education (degree(s): I have a bachelor's degree.

Who do you live with? I am currently single. I did get divorced but I have no children and I live with my parents.

What's a typical day for you? On a typical day I enjoy relaxing in the nice weather, watch some Netflix and my favorite sports team. I also enjoy playing some poker.
How long have you known you are living with FA? I have been diagnosed with FA for 25 years.

Are there any others with FA in your family? There are no others in my family with FA. I was just the lucky one!

Tom Trovinger 2 Describe your transition from walking to walker/wheelchair. I did not start using a walker until I was 25, and then went to a wheelchair at 35.

What do you like to do to stay active and what type of exercises work for you to stay strong? I really like rowing and yoga to keep me strong.

Do you have any hobbies or special interests? I am a huge Football fan. Go 49ers!

What is a good trick to make daily life easier? I feel talking with people, making and maintaining friendships is key.

When FA gets you down, what do you think/do to feel better? I try to use my humor to bring me back to reality.

What is one way living with FA has POSITIVELY affected your life? Without FA, I would not have met some wonderful friends.

What piece of advice that someone with FA has given you that encourages and inspires you? Getting the word out about FA is encouraging. Speaking all over the world, like Kyle Bryant, is very inspiring to me.

Tom Trovinger 3What is the best advice YOU could give to a person who has been newly diagnosed with FA? I would suggest getting involved, making friends, going to fundraisers, etc.

What is the first thing you want to do when a cure/treatment to FA is found? I can’t wait to get rid of the wheelchair!

Interviewed by
Interviewed by Erin O'niel