Harshita Chandwani My name is Harshita Chandwani and I am 25 years old. I’m from Mumbai, India. I’m a content writer by profession.

So, I was diagnosed when I was seventeen. It really feels life has changed 360⁰ post diagnosis. Being an independent teenager, I never would have thought I would be dependent on anyone so much. But then, without FA, I wouldn’t have known that I am this strong. I guess what they say is true, that “you never know how strong you are until being strong is the only option you have!”

When people my age are busy with their personal and professional growth, I have to hustle every day to get the tiniest of jobs done. But it’s okay! I’m very hopeful of being cured soon and being able to do the things I would have done if I didn’t have FA. Maybe, I would be doing those things a little later than others, but hey, age is just a number and life’s not a race!

My day typically involves working, doing physiotherapy and cycling. And being a total introvert, reading books and watching Netflix! My hobbies include reading, travelling (though it’s a bit difficult now), and spending time with the people I love! I’m a family girl!!! (if that’s a word)

I wanted to be an ambassador, because, in a country like India, where most people haven’t even heard of FA, raising awareness about it is very important.

My advice to someone recently diagnosed with FA is to just hang on. It gets better! Of course, there are hard days (I still have!), because we’re only human! But play along, because the more you try to fight it, the worse it’s gonna get! It’s like when your car slides on ice, you steer into the skid!